top of page

What’s the Difference Between The Major and Minor Arcana?

Updated: May 30

Tarot card reading is an ancient practice that has been used for centuries to gain insight, guidance, and self-discovery. Despite its mystical reputation, it can be a peaceful and insightful experience for those who seek it. It is a fascinating practice that can provide insight and guidance to individuals seeking to understand their lives and their paths. At the heart of the tarot deck are two types of cards: The Major Arcana and the Minor Arcana.

Major Arcana

The Major Arcana are a set of 22 cards that represent powerful archetypes and symbols. These cards often deal with significant turning points or milestones in an individual’s journey. Each Major Arcana card has a unique meaning and can offer guidance on topics such as love, career and personal growth.

Minor Arcana

On the other hand, the Minor Arcana is a set of 56 cards divided into four suits: Cups, Pentacles, Swords, and Wands. Each suit represents a different element, emotion, or aspect of life. The Cups suit represents emotions and relationships, Pentacles represent material possessions and finances, Swords represent thoughts and communication, and Wands represent passion and creativity.

Within each suit, there are 10 numbered cards and four court cards (King, Queen, Knight, and Page). Each numbered card represents a different stage or aspect of the suit’s theme, while the court cards represent different personalities or archetypes related to the suit.

While the Major Arcana are often seen as more powerful and significant, the minor Arcana can offer nuanced and detailed guidance on specific aspects of life. The Minor Arcana can be used to gain insight into relationships, finances, career, and personal growth, among other areas.

Both the Major and Minor Arcana are essential to understanding the full scope of tarot card reading. Together, they offer a comprehensive view of an individual’s life journey and provide insight into the challenges and opportunities they may encounter along the way.

In summary, the Major and Minor Arcana are essential components of the tarot deck. While the Major Arcana represent significant life events and powerful archetypes, the Minor Arcana offer detailed guidance on specific areas of life. Understanding the meanings and symbolism of both types of cards can provide valuable insight and guidance for those seeking to understand their path and purpose.

bottom of page